Fledge Feet Product Review and Giveaway

#tpelovesff

Today I am giving a review on a new company: Fledge Feet

We interviewed them last week and you can read that interview here.

They offer fold down high tops for kids. And as with tradition, I am going to give them a rave review. Here is why:

1. Style- These little shoes are totally stylish. With tons of colors, combos, and options, as well as the option to customize your order, you are bound to get something as stylish as your little love–boy or girl. I customized mine with a gray canvas and a black and white triangles (pictured above). I wanted something neutral and fun to go with all my little princess’ outfits. But honestly, I had a hard time choosing between all the amazing options. Mine have real suede bottoms, and came with great instructions for keeping them in great shape. Awesome!

2. They stay on- My daughter loves them because she is a girl with a shoe-fetish, and I love them because once they are on, they stay on. I have always kind of avoided the soft sole shoes because they fall off too easy. But guess what??? These don’t. They stay on really well. It is great because my little one is a runner, and shoes that slip or fall off are not cool. Not cool at all. The elastic is comfortable for my daughter, and keeps the shoe in place.

 

3. They are well made- Fledge Feet gets two great BIG thumbs up from me for quality of construction. They may be handmade and a small shop, but the professional design, and professional construction, are amazing! No lose threads, no messy stitches.

 

All-in-all these are awesome shoes! And guess what??? You have a chance to win a pair… any pair you want!

To enter:

Required entry: Leave a comment on this post telling us what your favorite pair of fledges are.

+1: Visit us on instagram (@travel_parent_eat), like @fledgefeet and share the giveaway photo with #tpelovesff

+1: Like Travel Parent Eat and Fledge Feet on Facebook

Giveaway ends 5/20/2014 at midnight MST, so enter now!

Signature-Rachael

 

And let’s get to the Mother’s May highlight. Today we are highlighting Elizabeth Johanson

Elizabeth Johanson

She was nominated by Natalie Gaskin via Instagram. And her husband wrote a little bio for us. Be prepared with tissues, you will likely get teary, what an amazing woman.

Elizabeth grew up in Las Vegas with her parents and six siblings. She has always been involved with the care and nurturing of children. Some of her earliest experiences came when she was only 10 years old and babysat a colicky baby. She would take him on long walks around the neighborhood in the middle of the night as he cried. Probably not something most 10-year-olds would do, but Elizabeth had a great love for that baby, and still does to this day.

When she was 15 years old, her father died of a heart attack. With still a younger 14-year-old brother at home, much of the attention was focused on him, and how he would go through his years in high school without a father. Meanwhile, an only slightly-older Elizabeth spent many hours comforting her mother, who had lost her husband. Probably not something most teenagers would do, but Elizabeth cared more for her mother than she did for herself.

Elizabeth graduated from BYU with a bachelors in psychology, with an emphasis in abnormal psychology. She thought a degree in psychology would help her to be a better mother. Little did she know how much she would need the things she learned in college for her family.

She married Adam Johanson in May 2005. In June 2006, their first baby girl, Megan was born.

Megan at a very young age exhibited a high mental aptitude. She began reading her first words a few months before her second birthday, and could read children’s books at the age of two. But as she grew she also started exhibiting speech delay, poor eating habits, and hyper-sensitivity to tastes and sounds. As Megan began school, social problems manifested themselves. Eventually, she was diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder known as Aspergers syndrome.

Elizabeth has sacrificed SO MUCH to ensure that her daughter’s needs were met. She has sacrificed everything from Friday-night babysitters to ensure Megan could be consoled during her meltdowns, to having Christmas Eve dinner at McDonald’s to ensure Megan was fed, while the rest of the extended family enjoyed their traditional feast. Probably not something most mothers would do, but the love Elizabeth has for Megan knows no bounds.

Elizabeth always tries to help Megan be able to integrate into society, by taking her to church, having her in the public school system, and signing her up for community activities. The most recent example was with the Provo city soccer league. On the very first day, the team needed a coach, and Elizabeth volunteered, although knowing very little about soccer or coaching. But she knew a lot about people, especially her little Megan. In her short time, she was able to help Megan overcome much anxiety on the soccer field, and lead her to become a confident little soccer player. Probably not all soccer moms would have done this, but Elizabeth wants only for her child to be happy and succeed.

Elizabeth’s second child Jack was born in November of 2008 with many health problems, the least of which was persistent pulmonary hypertension of the newborn (PPHN). It would eventually claim his life a few weeks later on December 29. In the face of despair, Elizabeth blogged about her experiences, often expressing her faith in God’s plan for her and her family, and her belief that she would be together with Jack again someday. Probably not all heartbroken-mothers would have done this, but Elizabeth wanted her son’s short life to be remembered as an inspiration to all who knew him.

In spite of trials she has faced in her life, Elizabeth continued having children, with Jane coming in December of 2010 and Alec in March of 2013. They are such a joy to her in her life as she continues to love and nurture them. In addition to her children, Elizabeth has 40 nieces and nephews whom she loves so much. Elizabeth is a wonderful example of someone who has exemplified being a mother her whole life, for her own children and others, from the young to the old.

Here’s a short video of Elizabeth’s girls talking about their Mom:

https://www.wevideo.com/hub/#media/ci/189296201

 

Can we give her some props??? I mean seriously. Leave some comment love for Elizabeth below.

About Rachael

I am Rachael, I have a passion for all things travel. I have an incurable wanderlust, and a need to see and do. I have four littles that call me "mom" and I am currently wading through the ever changing tides of parenting. I am figuring out what works, and what doesn't. And, I have a passion for food. In fact, I have an entire website dedicated to food www.eazypeazymealz.com. I love to eat, cook, and try new things.

, , , ,

25 Responses to Fledge Feet Product Review and Giveaway

  1. Jade Bradburn May 14, 2014 at 8:02 am #

    I love the gray ones with maybe the coral inside! Gosh these shoes are the cutest!!!

  2. Jade Bradburn May 14, 2014 at 8:04 am #

    Following on Ig

  3. Jade Bradburn May 14, 2014 at 8:04 am #

    Liked both pages on FB

  4. Chelsea May 14, 2014 at 8:05 am #

    I love the Fledge Feet shoes! This is my first time hearing about them so I checked out their website and they are absolutely adorable! I would love to win a pair for my little Noah. Choosing a favorite is difficult because there are so many that I really like! I am stuck between the Navy/Coral, Navy/Teal Triangle and the Red/ Grey Chevron. If I had to choose I would probably go with the Navy/Coral. I would love to win a pair of these shoes but even if I don’t I am going to have to buy a couple pairs because these are too cute to pass up! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Mary May 14, 2014 at 8:11 am #

    Yeah, I needed tissues. Elizabeth is a phenomenal mother and I am so grateful to know her. Love you, Elizabeth!!!

  6. Heather May 14, 2014 at 10:09 am #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE these sweet shoes and such a sweet Mama! My faorite pair are the Nutmeg Ebony & Ivory pair…would be perfect for a a new walker this fall!

  7. Michelle Cook May 14, 2014 at 10:14 am #

    I just ordered the gray with polka dot interior. I can’t wait to get them. I would love to win another pair to get another fun color like teal.

    • Michelle Cook May 19, 2014 at 3:07 pm #

      Entered all the ways. @something 4sam on IG.

  8. Elizabeth Johanson May 14, 2014 at 10:41 am #

    Wow! Thank you for featuring me. This has been one of the harder weeks as a parent (my 3 year old had a bad accident and my 1 year old is in the hospital post surgery) and this post really lifted my spirits. Thank you for the shout out and for motivating me to be a better mom.

    • Rachael May 14, 2014 at 1:59 pm #

      We think you are amazing and deserve tons of recognition. Sorry you have had a hard week. Hope all is well soon.

  9. nikki May 14, 2014 at 11:08 am #

    I seriously love fledgefeet so much! I love moccs bit these are just soooooo creative I want them in every pattern and color combo! Shout out to Elizabeth too, what an amazing wife, mother, aunt, daughter, etc. I needed the tissues, thanks! 😉

  10. Susue May 14, 2014 at 2:03 pm #

    Would love to win a pair of these. Hard to choose maybe the fray with chevron.

  11. Susie May 14, 2014 at 2:05 pm #

    Liked on Instagram and followed

  12. Susie May 14, 2014 at 2:06 pm #

    Liked on fb

  13. Michaelyn May 14, 2014 at 6:37 pm #

    Liked both on Instagram. I love the first one that are grey with black and white triangles on the inside ! these are the greatest idea ! I absolutely love them !

    • Anne Banks May 17, 2014 at 1:33 pm #

      Michaelyn, They are so cute in pictures and on their little feet! They are so helpful for early walkers! Thanks for entering!

  14. Christina May 15, 2014 at 11:37 am #

    I like the grey chevron and yellow outside. I liked both on FB.

  15. Cindy Collins May 16, 2014 at 9:06 am #

    I L O V E The Grey Outside Fabric & The Ebony & Ivory Inside Fabric With The Genuine Suede Sole <3 I Have Also LIked Both On FB & Instagram, Reposted On IG Under The Name: @nativeclover , & This Is My Mandatory Comment Which Isn't Really Mandatory For Me Seeing As How The More Ways I Can Have A Greater Chance Of Winning The Better My Little Love Really Needs New Shoes :)

    • Anne Banks May 17, 2014 at 1:29 pm #

      Cindy, I know, aren’t they all so cute! Thanks for visiting and entering the giveaway! Keep checking back, we will have more shoe giveaways in the coming months, too. Make sure you enter our Mother’s May giveaway as well, lots of cute gifts in that prize package!

  16. Lanae Christiansen May 16, 2014 at 5:55 pm #

    I love the grey/ ebony and ivory ones! Thanks for the chance to win. I liked you both on facebook and reposted on instagram.

    • Anne Banks May 17, 2014 at 1:25 pm #

      Lanae, Thanks for entering. They are all so cute, aren’t they!

  17. Meghan Alonso May 20, 2014 at 3:29 pm #

    There’s a pair that I have been eying for a few days now. They are brown with a pinkish red feather interior. We are going to Ireland in a few weeks, and since we are from Miami, I was looking for something that will keep my little ones feet a little warmer!

    • Meghan Alonso May 20, 2014 at 3:31 pm #

      and liked both facebook pages as well as Insta repost!

  18. Elaine Isaacs May 20, 2014 at 10:15 pm #

    Had my Daughter look at this page as well, her baby boy is arriving in July, the shoe welove and would be perfect is the “Gray with Purple Arrows” Thanks for the chance Elaine

  19. jennifer P May 21, 2014 at 12:34 am #

    Grey/Black